June 25, 2024

FG Inaugurates Committee On Preventing Flood Disasters In Nigeria

Spread the love

By Jerry Aguigbo

The Federal Government has inaugurated the Presidential Committee for the Development of a Comprehensive plan of action for preventing flood disasters in Nigeria.

The inauguration which took place in state house Abuja recently, stems from the ravaging flood which has killed close to 2000 people and rendered thousands homeless in Bayelsa, Anambra, Jigawa, Kano, Rivers, Delta and amongst other states in Nigeria.

In a bid to finding a lasting solution to this perennial disaster, President Muhammad Buhari had charged the Minister of Water Resources, Hon. Engr. Suleiman Hussein Adamu to draw up an action within 90 days to forestall further rehash.

Engr. Adamu who acknowledged that this year’s floods had caused untold hardships by submerging homes, destroying properties running into billions of Naira, also pointed out that the flooding has been majorly caused by lacalised rainfalls and poor drainage system in urban Areas.

Members of the Presidential Committee made “up of seasoned professionals and bureaucrats, drawn from MDAs, states and professional Organisation’s who are adjudged to have, in one way or the other, contributed immensely to the water resources, environmental, agricultural and other sectors of the country”, Adamu explained.

The steering committee members are: Minister of Health, Environment, Agriculture and Rural Development, Transport, Works and Housing, Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development including their permanent Secretaries.

The Minister urged all Committee Members to work diligently to ensure that their mandate is achieved.

Photo caption:

The Honourable Minister of Transportation, Mu’azu Jaji Sambo at the inauguration of the Presidential Committee for the Development of a Comprehensive plan of action for Preventing flood disasters in Nigeria, in company of His Excellency Dr. Onyekachukwu Ibezim, Anambra State Deputy Governor, his Colleagues, the Honourable Minister of Water Resources, Engr. Suleiman Hussein Adamu, Honourable Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, HajiaSadiya Umar Farouq, Honourable Minister of Environment, Barr. Mohammed H. Abdullahi, Honourable Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Honourable Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Mohammad Abubakar, at the Banquet Hall, State House, Abuja.

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *